Skip navigation
Menu Icon Menu Icon Menu Icon Menu Icon

Dominic Winter Auctioneers

Printed Books, Maps & Documents

Atlases, Travel & Exploration

A selection of lots being sold 16 May 2018

Jan Huygen van Linschoten. Navigatio ac Itinerarium in Orientalem sive Lusitanorum Indiam, 2 volumes in one, 1st  Latin edition, The Hague, 1599, containing 31 double-page plates of costume and scenery (maps not present).

The most comprehensive 16th century description of the East and West Indies, which also includes an account of the Americas.

Estimate: £2000-3000

For further information please contact Paul Rasti, John Trevers or Colin Meays

paul@dominicwinter.co.uk , john@dominicwinter.co.uk or colin@dominicwinter.co.uk

01285 860006


Motoring, Cycling, Maritime & Railway History

Motoring Collectables, Literature, Bicycles & Models

In Association with Transport Collector Auctions

A selection of lots being sold 17 May 2018

A Linley & Biggs sprung-frame 'Whippet' solid tyred bicycle, circa 1888.

Estimate £22,000-27,000

Manufactured by the London company of Linley & Biggs in an effort to supply a more comfortable ride, this model was soon made redundant by the introduction of the pneumatic tyre. With a retail price of £22 (about £1500 today) they were expensive, and it is believed less than 500 were produced. Due to their unique and picturesque design, most examples are held by museums; to find an example still in private hands is extremely rare.

For further information please contact Peter Card or Henry Meadows

peter@tc-auctions.com or henry@dominicwinter.co.uk

01285 860006


Military, Aviation & Naval History

Medals, Coins, Arms & Armour

A selection of lots being sold 18 May 2018

Imperial Russian Interest: DSM group to Able Seaman A.F. Fisher, Royal Navy, who served in HMS Marlborough at Jutland

and was part of the crew that evacuated the Romonov family from the Crimea in 1919. Later winning his DSM for an

action against the German Raider Thor 27 July 1940.

Estimate £3000-5000

For further information please contact Henry Meadows or Chris Albury

henry@dominicwinter.co.uk or chris@dominicwinter.co.uk

01285 860006


Children's & Illustrated Books

Modern First Editions including

P.G. Wodehouse, T.S. Eliot & James Joyce

A selection of lots being sold 26 July 2018

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Pellentesque a luctus massa.


Fine Art & Antiques

A selection of lots being sold 18 July 2018

A pair of large-scale Italian Renaissance maiolica vases, probably Urbino, circa 1580-1600, each approximately 66cm (26ins) high.

For further information please contact Nathan Winter, Susanna Winters or Henry Meadows

nathan@dominicwinter.co.uk  susanna@dominicwinter.co.uk or henry@dominicwinter.co.uk

01285 860006