Skip navigation
Menu Icon Menu Icon Menu Icon Menu Icon

Dominic Winter Auctioneers

Printed Books, Maps & Documents

Natural History & Field Sports

A selection of lots being sold 20 June 2018

Marcus Elieser Bloch. Ichtyologie, ou Histoire Naturelle, Generale et Particuliere des Poissons. Avec des figures enluminees, dessinees d'apres nature, parts 1-6 (of 12), in 3 volumes, 1st edition, Berlin: chez l'Auteur, & chez Francois de la Garde, 1785-1788.

A fine wide margined example of this highly important work, described as "possibly the most beautiful book on fishes ever published" (Dance).

Estimate £15,000 - 20,000

A selection of titles from a private collection of books on hunting, shooting and fishing.

For further information please contact John Trevers or Colin Meays

 john@dominicwinter.co.uk  

colin@dominicwinter.co.uk

01285 860006


Children's & Illustrated Books

Modern First Editions including

P.G. Wodehouse, T.S. Eliot & James Joyce

A selection of lots being sold 21 June 2018

For further information please contact Paul Rastie or Susanna Winters

paul@dominicwinter.co.uk or susanna@dominicwinter.co.uk

01285 860006


Fine Art & Antiques

A selection of lots being sold 18 July 2018

Herbert Gurschner (1901-1975). Altar des Lebens, 1938, oil on canvas triptych, depicting the three ages of man, each signed, the two outer panels both dated 1935, two of the canvases stamped G. Rowney & Co., with stencilled stock number 6781, with autograph inscription to verso of the central panel by the artist in capitals: 'Deren seele das werden "sein" und "vergehen" so versteht-wiedme ich diesen altar des lebens. Christmas 1938 H.G.'

Estimate  £20000-30000

A pair of large-scale Italian Renaissance maiolica vases, probably Urbino, circa 1580-1600, each approximately 66cm (26ins) high.

For further information please contact Nathan Winter, Susanna Winters or Henry Meadows

nathan@dominicwinter.co.uk  susanna@dominicwinter.co.uk or henry@dominicwinter.co.uk

01285 860006